Delete Facebook: Why and How to do it?

Table of Contents

Is it really the time to bid goodbye to Facebook and delete it forever? Well according to Whatsapp Co-Founder Brian Acton, it is!

Facebook is recently seen to be involved in Cambridge Analytica data leaks revelation. It is revealed that data leaked was involved in creating political campaigns to help Donald Trump win the presidential election in the US by manipulating voter’s behavior. Facebook is being criticized a lot over how the data of nearly 50 million users got leaked. No doubt the hashtag #deletefacebook is trending so much over social media and reportedly many users have already left the platform. But the question is, is our data actually safe with Facebook?

Well, digital data is never safe. Hackers are working tirelessly to breach into the world’s most secure servers and steal as much as possible. But that doesn’t mean you should stop using the internet.

How the data got leaked?

In 2015, a psychology professor of the University of Cambridge named Dr. Aleksandr Kogan collected data of millions of US-based users through a Facebook app (Remember all those quizzes you used to play on Facebook). Facebook alleges the professor passed the data to a firm named Cambridge Analytica which deals in political, government and military work around the globe. He also distributed the data to a few other firms. But the thing involved is what Facebook is doing to secure our data?

The stock price of Facebook is seen to be plummeting since the data leak news broke in. Facebook has suffered from a loss of $5 billion in a couple of hours on Monday. Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg is seen strategically selling stocks and saving millions of dollars for him and his company.

How to delete Facebook account?

First, you should know whether you want to deactivate your account or permanently delete your account. If you deactivate your Facebook account, you can reopen it after a while by entering your login credentials. But if you delete your Facebook account, there is no undo button. It’s gone forever. However, it takes around 90 days for your data to be permanently deleted from the Facebook servers. In the meantime, this data is inaccessible on Facebook.

If you want to deactivate your Facebook account, you have to

  1. Go to Account Settings
  2. Then click on General Settings
  3. Move to Manage account
  4. Click on deactivate button

That’s it! You deactivated your account successfully. All of your Facebook data will be hidden from the public. However, you can regain access to your account anytime you want to.

How to Permanently Delete Facebook Account?

  1. Go to the top right corner and click the down arrow button.

  2. Click on the Settings section.

  3. Go to Deactivation and Deletion.

  4. Select Delete Account and click on continue to account deletion.

  5. Enter your password and click Delete Account.

If you want to delete your Facebook account, follow this link

Mentioning again, once you delete your Facebook account there is no going back!

Should you delete your account: My opinion

There were days when Facebook was screaming on the nerves on people. People just couldn’t isolate themselves from uploading their activity on Facebook. Whether it’s eating in their favorite restaurant or watching their favorite movie, everything used to go on their Facebook timeline. There are so many memories we all uploaded on Facebook in the past years. But ask yourself, can you risk your data for the sake of digital social interaction?

In my opinion, you don’t have to. Why you should delete your account when you can use it smartly and wisely. You just have to learn what data is worth sharing and what is not. Now you know that nothing online is safe so just put your preferences in order.

  • Always keep your account secure by taking appropriate security measures.
  • Always use strong passwords while setting up your online accounts.
  • Only link your account with trusted third-party apps.
  • Do not let any fishy looking thing to gain access to your account by providing them your login credentials for just the sake of a fun quiz.

It is meant to connect you with your loved and dear ones. You can do all the fun by taking appropriate precautions.

If you like this article then hit like button below and subscribe to my blog by entering your email for new updates. You will receive alerts directly in your mailbox.

If you want to share your piece of writing then Click Here

Also, stalk me and add me on Social Media with links below.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/loudspeakerspeak & https://www.instagram.com/loudspeaker.social

Facebook: https://www.fb.com/loudspeakerspeak

twitter: https://twitter.com/loudstweet

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/LoudSpeakerSpeak

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma is the founder of Loud Speaker, the best SEO and social media marketing company. He has a great understanding of organic marketing and growth hacking. Rohit is also a writer, blogger, content creator. He is from Chandigarh, India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loud Speaker - SEO, Social Media Marketing Services

Join our exclusive Facebook group - The Inner Circle By Loud Speaker

Be a part of exclusive community of marketing enthusiasts. Discuss everything that matters and what not in digital world and get your queries answered.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin